Burning the Candle at Both Ends: Why Self-Care is Important for Making it Through Academia

Rae Marie Crawford

In all the flurry and fury of graduate school, there is one lesson I wish I learned sooner: the importance of self-care. Amid assignments, readings, and classes, I placed academic responsibilities above the need to care for myself. Sure, I thought I had everything handled well. I was actively participating in class, getting good grades on my papers, and managing to get by on little sleep. The small things I neglected – eating well, doing non-academic activities, being physically active, checking in with myself – the things that would have kept me in balance, were no longer priorities in my daily life. And that’s when everything fell apart.

View original post 1,061 more words

Leave a Reply

